Fort Worth Sexual Assault Lawyer
Are you or a loved one facing charges for sexual assault or rape? You need an experienced Fort Worth sexual assault lawyer in your corner as soon as possible. In Texas, sexual assault charges can come with some steep penalties — getting convicted can result in a 2 – 20 year prison sentence and up to $10,000 in fines.
If your charge is upgraded to aggravated sexual assault in Texas, you could be facing between 25 years to a lifetime in prison and again, up to $10,000 in fines. Being convicted of aggravated sexual assault also lands you on the Texas Sex Offender Registry, potentially for life.
There are a lot of factors at play in an aggravated sexual assault charge, and trying to understand them all by yourself could cost you precious time. The time to fight for your reputation and freedom is now. Get the facts, and contact the Fort Worth sex crimes attorney from Westfall Sellers to schedule your free consultation today.
What is Considered Aggravated Sexual Assault in Texas?
No matter where you’re from, if you’ve been charged with aggravated sexual assault, it’s important to understand how those aggravated sexual charges assault charges are determined. In Texas, aggravated sexual assault and sexual assault charges have different burdens of proof for the prosecution.
According to Texas Penal Code §22.011, sexual assault in Texas occurs when someone harms another person or threatens to harm that person through a sexual attack. These attacks include but are not limited to unwanted groping, statutory rape, forced touching of or penetration by a sexual organ, and/or drugging someone against their will.
Sexual assault charges can be elevated to aggravated sexual assault in Texas, according to Texas Penal Code §22.021, when the act of sexual assault was committed with violence or kidnapping, or threats of violence or kidnapping directed at the victim or others. Additionally, more severe sexual assault allegations can be prosecuted as aggravated sexual assault in Texas, including:
- Sexual assault of a child under the age of 14
- Sexual assault of an elderly victim
- Sexual assault of a disabled victim older than 13 years old and who, by any reason including age, physical, or mental disease, is unable to protect themselves from harm
- Sexual assault resulting in serious bodily harm
- Sexual assault involving a deadly weapon
- Attempting to kill the victim during the assault
If you are charged with aggravated sexual assault in Texas, the prosecution must prove intent (among other factors) in order to secure a conviction. One way of doing this is by luring and catching individuals in police sex sting operations. Every detail about the alleged incident matters, and proving that the accusations warrant the specific charge can be made challenging if your Fort Worth sexual assault lawyer uses the right defense strategies.
Keep reading: Sting Operation vs. Entrapment
No case is too complex for our legal team to handle and we are ready to investigate whatever is necessary to obtain evidence that can be used as leverage against the prosecution or law enforcement.Our Results
Additional penalties for aggravated sexual assault in Texas
Aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree felony. In addition to the penalties listed above (25 years to a lifetime in prison and up to $10,000 in fines), if your aggravated sexual assault charges involving a deadly weapon and/or a minor under the age of six, the penalty for conviction increases substantially. In Texas, aggravated sexual assault with a deadly weapon, aggravated sexual assault resulting in bodily harm, attempts to cause the death of a minor under the age of 14, and aggravated sexual assault of a child under the age of six both carry a minimum of a 25-year jail sentence if convicted.
It’s important to note that the court goes off of the victim’s age at the time of the offense, even if they are over the age of consent in Texas during the court hearings.
Defend Your Freedom and Your Reputation — Contact Westfall Seller’s Fort Worth Sexual Assault Lawyers!
Being charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault in Texas can derail your life. Don’t risk your freedom on a cheap sexual assault lawyer in Tarrant County. As both a recognized “Top Lawyer” by Fort Worth, Texas magazine and a Greg Westfall and the legal team at Westfall Sellers understand the intricacies of sex crime charges in Texas, and will stop at nothing to ensure that your rights are upheld in a court of law.
If you’ve been charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, the clock is ticking. You and your sexual assault defense attorney will need as much time as possible to investigate the facts and build your case. Don’t wait. Get started on the right foot by contacting us today to schedule a free consultation.