Criminally Negligent Homicide
We Fight Charges of Criminally Negligent Homicide in Texas
Compared to a charge of manslaughter, capital murder, or murder, criminally negligent homicide may seem like the “least serious” type of criminal homicide. Nevertheless, being charged with criminally negligent homicide in Texas is a very frightening experience, with potentially far-reaching consequences.
The good news is that you do not have to face of charge of criminally negligent homicide alone. The best homicide lawyers know how to craft strong defenses for their clients and defend their rights in court.
If you’ve been charged with criminally negligent homicide in Texas, call Westfall Sellers Attorneys at 817-345-7978 today to start building your defense.
What is criminally negligent homicide?
According to Texas Penal Code Sec. 19.05, criminally negligent homicide occurs when someone commits homicide through criminal negligence. So what does it mean to be criminally negligent? For that, we go to Texas Penal Code Sec 6.03 (d), which states that criminal negligence is when a person acts:
“…with respect to circumstances surrounding his conduct or the result of his conduct when he ought to be aware of a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the circumstances exist or the result will occur. The risk must be of such a nature and degree that the failure to perceive it constitutes a gross deviation from the standard of care that an ordinary person would exercise under all the circumstances as viewed from the actor’s standpoint.”
In other words, criminally negligent homicide, according to the law, is when someone commits homicide by acting without being aware of a risk of danger when they should have been aware.
Penalties for criminally negligent homicide in Texas.
What class of felony is negligent homicide?
Criminally negligent homicide in Texas is considered a state jail felony.
How much time do you get for criminally negligent homicide?
Those convicted of criminally negligent homicide in Texas can expect to serve between 180 days and two years in a state jail and to pay a fine of up to $10,000.
Your best chance to win against a charge for criminally negligent homicide in Texas?
Lawyer up, and lawyer up well. Because all homicide cases involve the death of another human being, prosecutors tend to maintain a very aggressive approach. The team at Westfall Sellers Attorneys know how to build a strong defense that helps protect you from these tactics.
If you or a loved one has been charged with criminally negligent homicide, you have to act fast, and you have to act smart. Remember: you only get one shot at this. Call Westfall Sellers Attorneys at 817-345-7978 or reach out to us online today.
Why Choose Westfall Sellers?
- Trial-tested experience
- Free initial case consultation
- In-house investigation services
- Agile, dedicated team
- Award Winning Law Firm
Get Help Now
You only get one shot at this.
Call or message us today.
817-928-4222 Schedule Consultation
No case is too complex for our legal team to handle and we are ready to investigate whatever is necessary to obtain evidence that can be used as leverage against the prosecution or law enforcement.Our Results